All About the Hall of Fame

How we started in 1988


The Texas Western Swing Hall of Fame started in 1988 with our first Show at the Paramount Theater in Austin.  Bob Wills was the first inductee and many of the Texas Playboys came to join the festivities.  Ms.  Wills was in the audience.  It began when 21 Western Swing Fans joined together to Form the Hall of Fame and honor the pioneers of Western Swing music.

1989 and 90 at the Auustin Opry House


We moved to the Austin Opry House for the next two years. Our inductees included Milton Brown and the Musical Brownies, Laura Lee McBride, The Light Crust Doughboys, Marvin Smokey Montgomery, The Sons of the Pioneers, Cliff Bruner and Townsend Miller in 1989.

In 1990 our inductees were:  the Texas Playboys, Cindy Walker,  Floyd Tillman, Eldon Shamblin, Jim Boyd, Hank Thompson, Adolph and Emil Hofner, Al Stricklin, Smoky Dacus, Joe Frank Ferguson, Cecil Brower, Larry Scott, and Leon Rausch.

How is it decided? Can I vote or suggest someone?


We have honored over 200 inductees since 1988.  They include bands, songwriters, announcers, band leaders, disc jockeys, vocalists, instrumentalists and anyone that acted as an ambassador of Western Swing since the 1930's.   Do you have someone to nominate?  Contact Al Dressen and we will get things moving.  Once the nomination is made we need three backing votes from someone who has been inducted into the Hall of Fame.